National Ecological Network (NEN)

Лични средства

biodiversity-plant.gifThe National Ecological Network (NEN) is developed according to the Biological Diversity Act. Its objectives are: long-term conservation of biological, geological and landscape diversity; provision of sufficient of size and quality areas for breeding, feeding and resting, including migration, moulting and wintering wildlife; creation of conditions for genetic exchange between separate populations and species; participation of  Bulgaria in European and global environmental networks; limitation of the negative anthropogenic impact on protected areas.

The National Ecological Network consists of protected areas declared under the Protected Areas Act, which are in accordance with the requirements of Directive 92/43/EEC on the conservation of natural habitats and of wild fauna and flora and Directive 2009/147/EC of the European Parliament and of the Council on the conservation of wild birds. The National Ecological Network includes with priority CORINE sites, Ramsar sites, important plant and birds areas.

At present in Bulgaria 955 protected areas are declared covering approximately 5.1% of the country territory. According to the Protected Areas Act, the protected areas are 6 categories: reserves (55), national parks (3), natural monuments (350), managed nature reserves (35), nature parks (11), protected sites (501).

Read more

The protected areas are part of the European ecological network NATURA 2000. At present 114 protected areas for conservation of wild birds, covering 20.3 percent of Bulgaria's territory and 228 protected areas for conservation of habitats, covering 29.5 percent of the territory of  Bulgaria are adopted by the Council of Ministers. At present 332 Natura 2000 sites covering a total of 33.89 percent of the country territory are adopted by the Council of Ministers.

Copyright 2000-2021 © Executive Environment Agency (ExEA)

Design and development: ExEA